Damn It Feels Good to be a Gangsta!

The internet is lousy with lists trumpeting the personal tastes of writers all over the world.  I am one of those writers, cramming my opinions down your throat in a vain attempt to justify my existence and prove my “superior” tastes.  If there’s one thing I think I have decent taste in, it’s movies.  I’ve seen plenty in my day, but I definitely wouldn’t call myself a movie snob.  No man who has seen Jason Bateman’s magnum opus “Teen Wolf Too” multiple times could ever claim to be a cinema snob.  Quite the contrary, I dig flicks enough to give almost anything at least one viewing.  One of my favourite film genres is the gangster movie; some of the greatest stories ever committed to celluloid have been about the criminal underworld.  The following list is my top five favourite gangster/crime films of all time.  This list is in no way definitive, so please don’t attack me by saying “Hey jerk, where’s New Jack City?” or “Dumbass, you forgot Menace to Society.  Maybe you should swallow some bullets out of a gun”.  Instead of strangely violent attacks on my ability to put together an unimportant list, just let me know in the comments what movies you would have chosen.

5. On the Waterfront

4. Godfather Part II

3. City of God

2. The Godfather

1. Goodfellas

As far back as he could remember, he always wanted to be a schnook

About heldrificus

Comedy/pop culture writer for nerdnexus.com Bench presser of dangerous animals. Tosser of rings, not salads.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Movies, TV and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

