Are Hover-boards Next?

Power Laces! The future sure is heavy!

With all of the recent posts, it would seem that this is an exclusive Back to the Future website.  I assure you I have other interests, but I admit that I will post pretty much anything related to that flick.  If Billy Zane and Casey Siemaszko are caught sharing a romantic milkshake in a filthy bathroom stall of a truck-stop in Gary Indiana, you better believe I’m putting words to paper about it.

Back II was my favourite of the trilogy because it showed me a future of: hover-boards, flying cars, rehydrated pizza that didn’t look like a cardboard wheel of garbage, self drying jackets with soothing robot voices, and radical shoes with power laces.

That last one; the radical shoes with power laces, could be a reality soon.  Nike has released this teaser called “McFly’s Closet”.

If this is real, I would kill everyone in this room just to have them.  Unfortunately I’m the only one in this room, (god I’m alone) so I better not do that.  But I’d definitely pay full price for them.

The year 2015 is coming fast; the self tying laces may be here, where’s my damn hover-board?

*UPDATE*

These are very real!

As per IGN

The Nike Mags are meticulously designed to replicate the same ones used by Marty McFly in Back to the Future II, and feature LED lights and an electroluminescent NIKE logo on the strap, rechargeable for up to 5 hours of 80’s greatness.

1,500 pairs of the Mag will be auctioned on eBay, with proceeds going towards The Michael J. Fox Foundation. The auction will consist of 150 pairs being offered daily for 10 days, and will start September 8 at 8:30PM PST. All donations will be doubled as a result of a previous $50 million match given to The Michael J. Fox Foundation.

To everyone reading this, My birthday is in November.  You know what to do.

About heldrificus

Comedy/pop culture writer for nerdnexus.com Bench presser of dangerous animals. Tosser of rings, not salads.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

